AION 2: NCSOFT announces five upcoming projects for the Abyss in advance — and not a single release date
In brief
NCSOFT has published an advance notice outlining five initiatives for the Abyss redesign in AION 2, without communicating any implementation date. These changes range from new equipment above the current tier to the application of PvP statistics against monsters, passing through a group synergy buff — but only the fourth point is actually under review, the others being simply "planned".
NCSOFT published, on Thursday, September 10, 2026 at 1:22 PM UTC — 3:22 PM in Paris, 10:22 PM in Seoul, two conversions that are our own — an announcement of a kind rarely seen on the Korean AION 2 board. It is neither a patch note nor a maintenance note: it is a preliminary notice, 사전 안내, on the direction the Abyss content overhaul will take. Five projects are described in it, and none of them is dated.
This limit must be set before anything else, because the publisher sets it itself: « 아래 내용은 현재 준비 중인 사항으로, 준비 과정에서 세부 내용이 변경되거나 일부 항목이 제외될 수 있습니다 ». The details may change along the way, and some points may be removed. NCSOFT adds that « 적용 시점과 확정된 내용 » — the timing of implementation and the finalized content — will be communicated later, through the update notes. The translations in this article are our own: this notice does not exist in any other language.
Scope clarification: all of this concerns the Korean service. The global service opens its early access on Wednesday, September 30, 2026, with its general release set for Monday, October 5, 2026 — the French Steam page shows "Release date: Oct 5, 2026." NCSOFT states nowhere that these five projects will be part of the Western build.
Five projects, but not the same promise
The reflex, when faced with a numbered list, is to put all five points on the same footing. The Korean text does not allow that: it does not use the same verb for all of them.
| # | What NCSOFT describes | Wording used |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | A tier of equipment above the highest Abyss tier (친위대장) | 추가될 예정 — "will be added" |
| 2 | The « 잠재력 증폭석 » will drop in the Abyss in 비각인 form | 변경될 예정 — "will be changed" |
| 3 | A group synergy buff provided by default on Abyss content | 준비하고 있습니다 — "we are preparing it" |
| 4 | Tightening of differentiated rewards across three Abyss contents | 검토하고 있습니다 — "we are reviewing it" |
| 5 | PvP stats will also apply against Abyss monsters | 변경될 예정 — "will be changed" |
The fourth point is the only one "under review" and not "planned": at NCSOFT, 검토 and 예정 are not interchangeable from one line to the next. Those waiting for an overhaul of the reward rankings are precisely those with the fewest guarantees.
Another observation, ours and not a figure from the publisher: among the ten most recent announcements on the Korean board, none other describes a content overhaul. They are maintenance notes, product sheets, penalty reports, and a weekly bug tracker.
Equipment above the current top tier
The first project adds two items: « [진] 가디언 친위대장 무기 », a weapon, and « [진] 가디언 친위대장 가더 » — the 가더 being the game's off-hand item, which likewise has no French label. NCSOFT describes them as items of a rank above the 친위대장 Abyss equipment. Method of acquisition and stats? « 정식 업데이트 노트를 통해 안내 »: nothing before the official notes.
To gauge the step up, one must refer to the table published the day before, in the Wednesday, September 9, 2026 note. It gives, tier by tier, the value of a stat line named « PVE 어비스 피해 증폭 » depending on the number of Abyss pieces worn.
| Gear Tier | 2 pieces | 5 pieces | 8 pieces | 12 pieces |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 십부장 | 15% | 20% | — | — |
| 백부장 | 15% | 20% | 25% | — |
| 천부장 | 20% | 25% | 30% | 35% |
| 군단장 | 25% | 30% | 35% | 40% |
| 친위대장 | 30% | 35% | 40% | 45% |
Two caveats. These are percentages applied to a named stat line, not raw damage, and we are not giving a French translation for it: none exists. And the dashes are not omissions. The September 9 patch note states that the PvE stats carried by Abyss gear "수치가 변경되거나 제거됩니다," change in value or disappear depending on the tier — the two lowest ranks have nothing left at 8 and 12 pieces.
The 친위대장 tier is thus indeed the current top of the live service, and it is above that line that the "[진] 가디언 친위대장" will be grafted on. By how much? The notice does not say. These five tiers are Korean military ranks, which we do not translate: an in-house rendering would carry no real meaning.
Calculation, groups and rewards: the three other projects
The fifth project is the most structural, and it can be summed up in one sentence: "어비스 몬스터와의 전투에도 캐릭터의 PvP 스탯 판정이 추가 적용되도록 변경될 예정입니다." The character's PvP stat rolls would also apply to fights against Abyss monsters.
In other words: gear built for player-versus-player combat would stop being inert against the zone's creatures. The word used is 추가, "in addition" — NCSOFT does not write anywhere that PvE stats would be replaced, and cites neither figures nor specific content. Yet this is the only one of the five points that changes a resolution rule rather than the contents of a chest.
The third project promises a group synergy buff provided by default "어비스 콘텐츠 진행 시간 동안," for the entire duration of Abyss content. The intent is spelled out plainly: "파티 구성에 따른 버프 격차를 줄이는 방향," to reduce the buff gap depending on group composition. Targeted content and quantified effects are not disclosed, and no class is named.
The fourth, which is only under consideration, concerns three explicitly listed pieces of content: 어비스 보스전, the Abyss boss fights; 어비스 균열 지대; and 어비스 아티팩트 점령전, the battles for Abyss artifacts. Two approaches are mentioned there: "구간별 보상 격차를 축소," narrowing the reward gap between tiers, and replacing the per-class ranking with a criterion "참여 인원 대비 비율," proportional to the number of participants. The amounts that would result from this adjustment will also be left to the official patch notes.
The second project, finally, comes down to one line: the "잠재력 증폭석" will drop in the Abyss "비각인 아이템으로," in unengraved form. Engraving, 각인, is the working translation we use in the absence of an official term. In the Korean notes, the engraved form and the tradeable form are contrasted — the September 9 note explicitly distinguishes the two for crafting materials. But the notice itself does not state that the item will become tradeable. We are sticking to the wording as given.
What is already live, and should not be confused with this
The confusion is all the easier given that the Abyss had already changed the day before. The September 9, 2026 patch note raised the stats of the 어비스 균열 지대 bosses, made eight of them invincible for 25 seconds below a certain HP threshold — twice at most —, lowered the total number of bosses per phase and raised the "균열의 꾸러미" reward accordingly. Weekly and seasonal Abyss quests were added there, and the server rematching reset the occupation status of the artifacts and of the Abyss Corridor.
All of this has been implemented. The five items in the notice, no: that's the whole difference between a patch note and a 사전 안내, and the only valid framework for reading this.
Announcing before implementing is, moreover, not a first for NCSOFT: an « AION2 LIVE 업데이트 프리뷰 » broadcast preceded the September 9 update, with the rewards notice intended for its viewers having been published on Tuesday, September 8, 2026 at 7:29 PM UTC.
None of this has a French name — and the French-speaking board doesn't mention it
The Korean service does not offer a French client: French arrives with the global service. None of the labels mentioned above therefore has an official form in French, and you will find here neither a "likely" translation nor a name invented for the occasion.
The trap would be to conclude from this that NCSOFT neglects its French-speaking audience. That's false, and it's verifiable: for the global service, the publisher maintains a French-speaking announcements board distinct from the English board, with its own identifiers and seven announcements actually written in French — not a /fr/ address that serves up English, a case we regularly encounter elsewhere. Simply put, the most recent one dates from August 26, 2026 ("Pre-launch test coming soon") and none of them deals with the Abyss. The English board is in the same boat: nothing since August 26 either.
Yet the Abyss is no secondary backdrop in the Western pitch: the French Steam page places it at the center of the argument, "PvE content and faction warfare remain always closely tied to the depths of the Abyss." With less than three weeks to early access, what gets settled in Korea regarding this zone shapes what Western Daevas will find there — without any NCSOFT document guaranteeing it.
What to remember
- Five items for the Abyss: four presented as planned, only one as under consideration.
- No date, no numerical value, no method of acquisition: everything is deferred to a future update note.
- The only rule change: PvP stats would come into play in fights against Abyss monsters.
- The only public figures on Abyss gear remain those from the September 9 patch.
- Korean service only: nothing is promised for the global service launching September 30.
The next document to settle anything will be, by NCSOFT's own admission, the update note that will implement these changes. It has no date.
Share this article
Which initiative excites you most for the Abyss?
Frequently asked questions
When will these changes go live?
Will these five initiatives also affect the global service?
Why are the first four points "planned" and the fourth only "under review"?
What does the modification on the Potential Amplification Stone concretely change?
Key takeaways
- Equipment superior to Elite Guardians will enter the game, but its acquisition method remains unknown.
- The character's PvP statistics will also apply to combat against Abyss monsters, breaking the current inertia of this equipment in PvE.
- A group synergy buff provided by default will reduce the performance gap depending on team composition.
- Only the rewards redesign is actually under review; the four other initiatives are simply announced.
- This notice concerns only the Korean service and commits nothing for the global launch on October 5, 2026.
Comments
No comments yet. Be the first to react!
Android
iOS
Mac
Meta Quest 3
Nintendo Switch
Nintendo Switch 2
PC
PlayStation 4
PlayStation 5
PS VR2
Steam Deck
SteamVR
Xbox One
Xbox Series